RealNews

Animal Rights Activists Suspected in Chiron Blasts

Two homemade bombs exploded early on Thursday at Chiron Corp. headquarters, shutting down work at one of the nation’s largest biotech companies in what industry experts said might have been an attack mounted by animal rights activists. Police said they had no suspects at the moment but a biomedical industry group, Americans for Medical Progress, said the explosions could have been the work of animal rights activists because the company uses animals for research. Executives at the company, located in the Northern California city of Emeryville, have complained of being harassed by animal rights activists in recent weeks. No injuries or major property damage were reported in the explosions, which took place at 2:55 a.m. PDT (5:55 a.m. EDT) and 4:10 a.m. PDT (7:10 a.m. EDT). A third device, packed in a five-gallon plastic container, was found in front of a third building at the Chiron complex by the Alameda County Sheriff’s Department and safely detonated. Full Story

OODA Analyst

OODA Analyst

OODA is comprised of a unique team of international experts capable of providing advanced intelligence and analysis, strategy and planning support, risk and threat management, training, decision support, crisis response, and security services to global corporations and governments.