EconomicGlobal RiskNews BriefsPolitical Risk

The Trans-Pacific Partnership Enters Into Force without USA on December 30

With Australia’s ratification of the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) trade agreement, the agreement between 11 countries will go into effect at the end of December. Current signatories include Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Mexico, and Canada, while Brunei, Chile, Peru, Vietnam, and Malaysia were a part of the negotiations but have not yet ratified the agreement. Japan, currently the largest economy in the agreement after the US removed itself, has expressed interest in expanding the agreement to new countries, including the United Kingdom following its separation from the EU. The agreement currently represents around 16% of global economic output and 500 million people. 

Source: The CPTPP Trade Agreement Will Enter Into Force on December 30 | The Diplomat

OODA Analyst

OODA Analyst

OODA is comprised of a unique team of international experts capable of providing advanced intelligence and analysis, strategy and planning support, risk and threat management, training, decision support, crisis response, and security services to global corporations and governments.